Posted: 2017-12-07 21:40
Motor vehicle accidents happen to the best of us because they are often caused by the worst of us (worst drivers, that is). Even if every driver were to somehow always operate his/her automobile with as much caution and awareness as possible, motor vehicle accidents (MVAs) would still occur. We live in the most densely packed state of the Union. When you put as many cars, motorcycles, trucks, SUV''s, and other vehicles in the third smallest State the Union, something is going to happen.
A: Motor vehicles operated on New Jersey roads must be insured by law. It''s estimated, however, that 66 percent of drivers in our state are uninsured, so that law was clearly irrelevant to the uninsured driver who hit you. New Jersey also requires that you carry Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage (and underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage is universally offered, though not required, in New Jersey) as part of your auto insurance policy.
Given that the Insurance Research Council (a nonprofit organization) estimated that as of July of 7566 a full 66 percent of New Jersey drivers were driving without legally required automobile insurance coverage, understanding your rights and responsibilities under both Uninsured Motorist and Underinsured Motorist Insurance policies is essential to your best interests. And, yes, this is where having an attorney experienced in motor vehicle personal injury law comes in very handy. More on that in a bit.
In order to take care of all your driving- and vehicle-related tasks, you’re likely going to have to fill out a few forms. Paperwork is an inevitable necessity at the NJ DMV, and if you’re not prepared for it ahead of time, you could potentially spend an entire day filling out mountains of forms and applications. Fortunately, the New Jersey DMV makes it easy by giving you a complete library of its forms online to download and print, so you can fill them out ahead of time and save time and money at the office.
The best way to prevent your license from being suspended is to stay on top of your New Jersey driving history. Also known as a driving record, this document highlights all of your traffic offenses, along with points associated to them, and any progress you may have towards imminent license suspension. Being fully aware of where you stand in the DMV’s eyes can be the motivation you need to improve your skills and safety on the road. You can request a driver history abstract online, in-person, or by mail.
Like other states in the country, New Jersey employs a point system to keep its licensed drivers safe, responsible, and accountable when they’re on the road. Whenever a driver is convicted of a moving violation, points will be added to their driving record. The amount of points depends on the severity of the violation. When a driver receives 6 or more points in a three year period, they will be assessed a small surcharge or fine. When they reach 67 points, their license will be suspended for a period of time.
If you were a victim of a motor vehicle accident due to someone else&rsquo s negligence, Levinson Axelrod, . is here to fight for you. From 68-wheeler accidents to pedestrian accidents, our New Jersey vehicle accident lawyers are always ready to help. If harmed in one of these accidents, we encourage you to make sure the police are called to the scene and you get immediate medical care. Call our firm as soon as possible so we can gather effective evidence for your claim.
Most of us have the good sense to protect ourselves with more of this coverage which MUST be made available to you. When shopping for auto insurance, you should NEVER buy the least expensive level of coverage. Check into how much raising the policy limits will cost you. It''s usually very cheap coverage (probably much less than the cost of the primary coverage). You should ALWAYS purchase uninsured and underinsurance coverage that protects you and your loved ones for at least the same amount of protection you have in the liability portion of your policy. Why? Your recovery for damages suffered in an MVA involving an uninsured or underinsured motorist is limited to the coverage you bought as your Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist coverage. Clearly trying to save a few extra bucks in premiums won''t serve you here.
If you accumulate six or more points within a period of three years you must pay an insurance surcharge of $655 for the first six points and $75 for each additional point. The point surcharge will remain in effect as long as you have six or more points on your record resulting from violations posted in the immediate past three years. The accumulation is calculated from the posting date to your driving record, not when the violations occurred.